Home/United States/Georgia/Fulton County
Data centers in Fulton County, Georgia: 16 projects mapped
Both are true here. Atlanta has a ban on new data centers in force, and 9 projects are still proposed or being built. A pause usually stops new applications; projects filed before it, or outside its reach, can carry on. Each project page says where it stands.

In Fulton County the zoning decisions belong to its fifteen cities, so the county commission has used the one lever it holds: money. On August 5, 2026 the Board of Commissioners passed a resolution opposing tax abatements or any other incentive for data centers from development authorities in the county, and urging the Development Authority of Fulton County to decline to consider them. That authority has granted $150 million in data center tax breaks since 2020, and the county says the state's own incentives are estimated to cost county and city governments $1.1 billion in sales tax revenue in 2026. "This resolution is about fiscal responsibility, protecting our tax digest, and respecting our municipal partners," said District 1 Commissioner Bridget Thorne, who sponsored it with District 2 Commissioner Bob Ellis.
The county's north end has been pausing. Milton's city council voted unanimously in June 2026 for a 30-day moratorium, open to extension, on every kind of data center application from rezonings to business licenses, and Roswell has adopted a moratorium too. Atlanta went earlier, and further: on September 3, 2024 the city council banned data centers along and near the BeltLine and within half a mile of MARTA stations. "Atlanta's data center market is one of the fastest growing in the nation," said Councilmember Jason Dozier, and it "raises serious concerns about the impact on our urban environment and essential infrastructure."
The south end is where the buildings are going. At least 20 data centers are being planned in southern Fulton County, an area of majority-Black cities including South Fulton, Union City and Fairburn, among them Vantage's 105-megawatt College Park Data Center Campus, Edged's 100-megawatt ATL01-2 building in Atlanta and xAI's site at QTS in Atlanta. South Fulton adopted rules in June 2025 on noise and distance from homes, then that August approved another project that the city had said could generate $7 million to $10 million in revenue. Water for Fairburn, Palmetto and Union City comes through a decades-old regional water and sewer authority that Chris Manganiello of Chattahoochee Riverkeeper said is struggling to find direction, identify partners and address funding needs. "They're noisy … they use a tremendous amount of water and electricity," said resident Yvonne Cole Boone. "We don't want our tree canopy to be knocked down."
Data center projects on record in Fulton County
Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.
Atlanta6
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QTS Atlanta 1 (Metro)Atlanta | QTS | 278 MW | ||
| Edged ATL01-2 Data CenterAtlanta | Edged | Under construction | 100 MW | |
| DataBank ATL4 (200 Selig Dr)Atlanta | DataBank | 40 MW | ||
| xAI QTS AtlantaAtlanta | xAI | 17.3 MW | ||
| Digital Realty Atlanta (250 Williams St)Atlanta | Digital Realty | Not reported | Source off site ↗ | |
| Lambda Atlanta (EdgeConneX)Atlanta | EdgeConneX | Under construction | Not reported |
Alpharetta2
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| STACK Alpharetta (ATL01)Alpharetta | STACK Infrastructure | 20 MW | ||
| GI Partners Alpharetta (former Ascent ATL1)Alpharetta | GI Partners | 15.2 MW |
Palmetto2
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| T5 Fairburn (Atlanta)Palmetto | T5 Data Centers | Proposed | 300 MW | |
| Microsoft PalmettoPalmetto | Microsoft | Under construction | Not reported |
South Fulton2
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vantage College Park Data Center CampusSouth Fulton | Vantage Data Centers | Proposed | 105 MW | |
| Vantage WestlakeSouth Fulton | Vantage Data Centers | Proposed | Not reported |
College Park1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lumen College ParkCollege Park | Lumen | Not reported |
Douglasville1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stream Atlanta West (ATLA Douglasville)Douglasville | Stream Data Centers | Proposed | 240 MW |
East Point1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft East PointEast Point | Microsoft | Under construction | Not reported |
Union City1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Union CityUnion City | Microsoft | Proposed | Not reported |
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Moratoriums and bans in effect
Pauses on new data centers covering this area.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AtlantaTown or city | Ban | Oct 1, 2024 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
Keep going
- Douglas Countynext door
- Coweta Countynext door
- Bartow Countynext door
- Newton Countynext door
- DeKalb Countynext door
- Floyd Countynext door
- Project Camellia3,200 MW, one of the largest in Georgia
- Project Bunkhouse1,300 MW, one of the largest in Georgia
- Project Arrowhead1,250 MW, one of the largest in Georgia
- Every project and ban in Georgia
- Where communities wonprojects residents stopped
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to james@floridadatacenters.org and it gets fixed.